Speed assumptions cycling-electric and cycling-regular in QGIS

Hi all

For my master thesis I am researching the potential of e-bikes (up to 25 km/h) in combination with train travel in the province of Antwerp (Belgium) . Therefore, I would like to calculate catchment areas (isochrones) for train stations in Antwerp, for both regular cycling and electric cycling. However, I will need to review (and change if necessary) the speed assumptions for these modes.

I understand the ORS tool which I am using in QGIS is opensource, so I think it should be possible to do this. However, I am new to coding and I am not finding sufficient information online which could help me.

Is there anyone who could explain me how to find these assumptions and change them?

You would be a lifesaver!

Thanks!

Hi,

nope, sorry, that’s not possible that easily. What you’re using in QGIS is merely a client to request ORS, it doesn’t do much really.

Unfortunately, you can’t set the speed for bike dynamically in ORS. So you’d have to set up ORS yourself and change a few things. Easiest is to set up via Docker:

You can find the speed assumptions in the flag encoders, e.g.

However, speed depends on a lot things, like road class/surface etc You can set whatever speed you like and then recompile the project (i.e. build the Docker image) and run ORS locally.

I recommend you get some help from someone with a little more experience, this is fairly involved.

Hi Nils

Thanks for your answer! As I am new to coding, is there somewhere I can find a summary of the speed assumptions for the different modes/road class/surface etc.?
And do you by any chance know on what these assumptions were based?

Thank you for helping me!

@Simon.delrue,

for assumptions check this doc page or the cycling flagencoders in the sourcecode as nils mentioned already.