Openrouteservice docker-compose hanging

Hello,

I am new to this project and I was trying to set up Openrouteservice through docker-compose. I simply ran the command mentioned in the github readme- cd docker && mkdir -p conf elevation_cache graphs logs/ors logs/tomcat && docker-compose up.

The docker process hangs after printing these logs-

[+] Running 1/0
 ⠿ Container ors-app  Created                                                                                                                                                                                                          0.0s
Attaching to ors-app
ors-app  | ### openrouteservice configuration ###
ors-app  | ors-config.json exists in ors-conf folder. Copy config to /ors-core/openrouteservice/src/main/resources/ors-config.json
ors-app  | ### Package openrouteservice and deploy to Tomcat ###

I waited for over 20 mins and nothing was happening. The docker process was neither downloading anything from the network nor using any CPU. Not sure what’s happening. I would appreciate any help.
Thanks!

Hey,

getting stuck at this point suggests that the ors didn’t build successfully in the container. To check this, do the following:

• enter the container (docker exec -it ors-app bash)
  • check whether /ors-core/openrouteservice/target/ors.war and /usr/local/tomcat/webapp/ors.war exist
  • if not, run mvn -f /ors-core/openrouteservice/pom.xml package -DskipTests and check/post the output

Best regards

1 Like

Hey @jschnell, I’m not the original poster but I was having the exact same problem as they do. I’m on an M1 Mac, and I think I’ve solved the problem for me, so I’m sharing in case other M1 Mac users bump into this.

First, after getting the same issue as the original poster, I followed your instructions and:

• The two files you mentioned, /ors-core/openrouteservice/target/ors.war and /usr/local/tomcat/webapp/ors.war, do not exist