Newbie question

Hello, very new to openrouteservice, but familiar with the openstreetmap project. Am trying to understand the service, I was able to create token and generate API key, I went to the API Playground and plugged in coordinates I got from OpenStreetMap.org then click ‘Call Action’. I got the following response:

-{
-“error”: {
“code”:2010,
“message”: “Could not find point 0: 14.4234100 121.0311700 within a radius of 350.0 meters.”
},
-“info”: {
-“engine”: {
“version”: “6.1.1”,
“build_date”:“2020-06-15T14:04:34Z”
},
“timestamp”: 1592646145682}
}

Here are the points 14.42341,121.03117 and 14.43059,121.01534

What is the correct way to use this?

[lon, lat], not [lat, lon]. Didn’t come up in a while…

1 Like

and also please read hints:
:man_shrugging:

Ouch!. Ok, got it.

I did say I was a newbie, but you did not have to be sarcastic about it. It would have been more helpful, if you just explained to me my mistake and correct it. You do know, the answer is not obvious, the error was vague without indicating why the error occurred, this is why I asked for help.

The hint your referring to is in the forums, it might have been logical and helpful to place that piece of information in the API Playground info for other newbies like me.

Also, being the project was using data from OpenStreetMap, it would have been logical to assume that I could just copy and paste coordinates from OpenStreetMap.

Sorry, i didn’t mean to offend you.

I know this is your first post, so this wasn’t the best greeting :sweat_smile:.

But please be sure to read and search before posting in general.
We try to make sure you encounter information before you have to post.
We put these templates in place and put the lat lon issue as first point exactly because a lot of people are asking about it.