How to break a route into Segements

Hi,

I am pretty new to this service - but after plaything and searching, I was not able to find what I am looking for. Sorry if it is a repeated question that I missed on my hunting.

I am working on a project for a bike event, for route distance and segment calculations and live tracking during the event. Essentially, we are looking to break a specific time for this race and being able to break into smaller segments allows the team to be more accurate with their metrics. I could do this manually by continually plugging in lon/lat values until I get what I need, but thought there would be a more elegant solution.

Auto route segmentation:

• Given a known route I want to break it into segments of say 10km each. I have been trying the direction endpoint with a set of coordinates, but I wasn’t sure how to break this down into segments of a specific size.
    • Is there was a way to get a result set of ALL the lon, lat, distance on a given route? Currently the result set is the distance between the coordinates that I passed in or distance between calculated coordinates, but I am looking for more points along the route, not just the ones defined by route. If the exact segment distance I need is not available, is it possible to have the API return the routes.segments[] in 100meter or 500meter increments, even if there is no route change - that way I could still calculate what I need.

regards
-brett

Hey,

the ors always returns a route as a list of coordinates that are connected by straight segments - either as an encoded polyline or more visible using the geojson endpoint (insert any geojson response into geojson.io and change the type to “MultiPoint” and you’ll see all the points).