Evenly spaced way points

Dear ORS community and team,

I am new to ORS. What I would like to achieve is getting a route with evenly spaced waypoints and elevation data, e.g. there should be a waypoint all say 100 meters.
Is that possible somehow?
What I got so far is a Dart Console Application that fetches 2D route data. This works perfect. I then fetch the elevation data. This also works great.
So thanks for this a lot.
But when computing distances between way points I observed differing distances.
This also makes sense to me. But is there a chance to get data as specified above?

Best regards from Aachen, Germany
Marcus

Hey,

what would you hope to gain from evenly spaced waypoints?
Given that you have a route, you can calculate evenly spaced waypoints yourself, I’d assume?

The ors doesn’t support this, since it wouldn’t make too much sense. Think about a route in a town with a lot of small, short streets. Having one waypoint every 100 meters would probably lead to having to guess at every junction.

Best regards

Hey jschnell,

thank you very much for your reply. I highly appreciate that.
At the end I need an elevation profile over the whole route as input to a control algorithm. The density of the profile should be quite high and equally distributed (best).
Let’s say, if I consider two points being 1km far from each other it is useless to know the elevation in both points to determine the slope. The route could be like a sin function which I cannot cover if I do not know enought supporting points in between.
I also thought about calculating the supporting points on my own but I don’t know how to assure that I am still on the route specified when computing random supporting points.
Hope the idea and the problem got somewhat clear.

Best regards,
Marcus

Hey,

so I understand it you’re not interested in the waypoints themselves, but in the elevation?
As stated, the ors doesn’t support this.