Question around wheelchair routing

Hello,
I want to begin by stating that I am not a programmer, so please excuse any lack of technical knowldge.

I’ve been working on a project to map mobility and accessibility in a town centre, and have been investigating why there seems to be very little directional programmes when it comes to wheelchair or visual impairment issues. The project is mapping with OpenStreetMap.

I was pleaed to come across openrouteservice, but have been unable to get the wheelchair routing to work and interested to understand why this might be.

Is because the number of data point that has to be processed becomes too high when taking into account so many variables? i.e. rather than just a single road, it has to work through kerbs/paving type etc?
Or is it simple that this sidewalk data doesn’t really exist?

1 Like

Hi @sam-odm,

the wheelchair profile is a lot more restrictive in terms of what it will route over in that it will only use ways that are aimed at pedestrians or roads that have a sidewalk tag. If you post an example of the query that you are using, then we can check to make sure that this is the case and not some other issue.

Also, the wheelchair profile is only available for Europe at the minute as it requires a lot more processing than the other profiles.

Adam

1 Like

Hi, great to know, I also am pretty much interested by this. I am planning mapping parties on accessibility for disabled, in Tahiti (French Polynesia). I would be very much interested to know all the inputs used by the routing algorythm. Is there somewhere where we can find the sources or input for calculation ? I know that ORS will not work in my area but the idea to know that the algorythm is working somewhere else and could be replicable is already great.
Keep up the great work!
Best
Violaine

1 Like